Skip to main content

Timeline Tab of an Alert Summary Page

Use the Timeline tab to view a list of events or benchmarks associated with the alert. Click the arrows or the Expand all or Collapse all button to view or hide more information.

The timeline includes events like the following:

  • Alert Submitted

  • Assignment Created

  • To Do, Email, or Attachment Added

  • Alert Closed

  • Alert Outcome Added

  • Alert Reopened

  • Alert Outcome Changed

The View detail button in an event opens the Comments & Detail panel for the event. (If there are comments, the number of comments appears in the button.) On the panel you can view details of the interaction, view and add comments, and view audit information (when it's scheduled or completed, for example).

Options

The Block settings drop-down lets you add blocks, manage blocks, and restore default block settings if you have permission for those actions.

The Create alert communication button lets you create a new communication addressed either to the student or the alert submitter.

The Alert actions drop-down lets you add a note communication to the alert, edit the alert details, close or reopen the alert, create an assignment, or delete the alert (if you have permission for those actions).

Permissions

To see view the Interactions page, a user needs only the "Can view alert overviews" and/or the "Can view alert overviews on confidential alerts" permissions found in the following roles:

  • Alert Assignee

  • Alert Submitter

  • Student Success Administrator

However, more permissions on those same roles give more access and ability, such as viewing details, adding notes, and so on.

How To

  1. On the Alert Tracking page, click the Alert Summary link on an alert. The alert's Summary page opens.

  2. Click the Timeline tab. The tab opens listing the events in the alert's timeline.

  3. To view details on an item, click the Expand icon down_expand_icon.png.

  4. To view the Summary pop-up for a person listed on an item, click their name. From the pop-up, you can create a communication to the person or jump to pages from their Person options drop-down.

  5. To generate a PDF report of the timeline, click the Generate report button. The report opens in a new tab. Use your browser's controls to print or save the report.

  6. To create a communication, click the Create alert communication drop-down, and select either Student or Submitter. The Create New Communication pop-up opens. Fill in the fields, and click Send (or for a phone call, click Save and call now).

Important

The "Can manage blocks" permission is available in the Student Success Administrator role and roles copied from it.

  1. To add a block to the Overview or Student Details tab:

    1. Click the Block settings drop-down, and select Add block. The Add Block pop-up opens.

    2. Click in the Block Type field, and select an option (such as Chart, Custom Content, Data Set List, or Forms).

    3. Click the Add block button. The pop-up closes, and the block is added to the tab but is viewable only to users with the "Can manage blocks" permission.

    4. On the block, click the Edit icon Edit Icon. The block becomes an Edit Block panel.

    5. In Block Title, enter a name for the block. Up to 200 characters. Required.

    6. Follow the prompts to finish editing the block.

    7. If you're ready for the block to be viewable, click the Disabled/Enabled button so that it says Enabled.

    8. Click the Save button. Your edits are saved.

  2. To enable or disable existing blocks:

    1. Click the Block settings drop-down, and select Manage blocks. The Manage Blocks pop-up opens.

    2. On a block's row, click the Disabled/Enabled button so that it says the state you want.

    3. Click the Update button. The pop-up closes, and your changes are saved.

  3. To remove one or more existing blocks:

    Warning

    You can remove a Jenzabar-provided block from the tab, but it isn't deleted. It can be restored to the page. However, when you remove a custom block, it is permanently deleted.

    Removing blocks is tricky. Disabling them is safer.

    • If you remove a custom block (one the isn't provided by Jenzabar), it is deleted permanently. If you decide you want it back, you can recreate from scratch.

    • If you remove a Jenzabar-provided block, it's removed from the tab but not deleted. It can be returned to the page by restoring defaults. However, restoring defaults also deletes all the custom blocks from the tab.

    • Therefore, instead of removing a Jenzabar-provided block, just disable it. That way, if it's wanted in the future, you can simply reenable it, which won't affect the custom blocks.

    1. Click the Block settings drop-down, and select Manage blocks. The Manage Blocks pop-up opens.

    2. On a block's row, click the Delete icon Delete icon. A warning reminds you that if you're removing a custom block, it will be deleted permanently.

    3. Click the Update button. Your deletion or removal is saved.

  4. To restore the tab to its original layout:

    1. Click the Block settings drop-down, and select Restore defaults. The Restore Defaults pop-up opens. A warning reminds you of the following

      • Any custom blocks will be deleted permanently.

      • All Jenzabar-provided blocks will be restored, and put in their original sequence. However, if any are disabled, they will remain disabled.

    2. Click the Yes, restore defaults button. The pop-up closes. The custom blocks are deleted permanently, and the

    3. Click the Update button. The pop-up closes, and your changes are saved.

  1. On any tab of an alert's Summary page, click the Alert actions drop-down, and select Add Note. The Create New Communication pop-up opens with Note selected as the Communication Type and the with the student selected in the About field.

  2. Click in the Interaction Code, Name / Description field, and select an option.

  3. Enter your note. Required. Up to 8000 characters.

  4. Optional: To attach a file, click the Attach file button. Your computer's file explorer opens. Select a file, and click Open. The file is attached.

    Note

    The file type must be DOTX, HTML, PDF, or WAV.

  5. To preview the note, click the Preview button. The note pops up.

    1. To view an attachment, click its link.

    2. To view the note's Summary page, click the note's name.

    3. To close the preview, click the Close icon The Close icon.

  6. Click the Send button. The note is sent.

  1. On any tab of an alert's Summary page, click the Alert actions drop-down, and select Create assignment. The Create Assignment pop-up opens for that alert.

  2. Enter the information:

    1. Assignee Name / ID: Begin typing the name or ID of the person you want to assign, and select them from the list of results. Required.

    2. Task: Enter a title for the assignment such as "Meet with Student" or "Recommend Tutor". Up to 80 characters. Required.

    3. Task Details: Enter assignment details. Up to 500 characters. Required.

    4. This assignment is high priority: Select the checkbox if this task is high priority.

  3. Click either Save and create another assignment or Create assignment. The assignment is created, and the assignee is notified.

  1. On any tab of an alert's Summary page, click the Alert actions drop-down, and select Edit details. The Edit Alert Details pop-up opens for that alert.

  2. Make your edits.

  3. Click the Update button. Your changes are saved.

Tip

You can also edit alerts from the Alert Tracking page.

  1. On any tab of an open alert's Summary page, click the Alert actions drop-down, and select Close alert. The Close Alerts pop-up opens for that alert. If you're not permitted to close the alert, a message informs you.

  2. In the Alert Outcome drop-down, select an option. (Alert outcomes are defined on the Alert Outcome Definitions page, and only active definitions are available to select.)

  3. Click the Yes, close alerts button. The alert is closed and marked with the outcome you selected. It's visible on the Alert Tracking page,

Tip

You can also close alerts from the Alert Tracking page.

On any tab of a closed alert's Summary page, click the Alert actions drop-down, and select Reopen alert. The alert is reopened.

Tip

You can also reopen alerts from the Alert Tracking page.

  1. On any tab of an open alert's Summary page, click the Alert actions drop-down, and select Delete. The Delete Alerts pop-up opens for that alert. If you're not permitted to delete the alert, a message informs you.

  2. Click the Yes, delete button. The alert is deleted.

Tip

You can also delete alerts from the Alert Tracking page.