Skip to main content

Alert Assignee Role in Student Success

The Alert Assignee role is assigned automatically to users when they're given an assignment for an alert. This role gives them the selected permissions for the alerts they're assigned to.

The role can't be copied because there's no need for different versions of the role.

Permissions Tab

Use the Permissions tab to grant or deny degrees of access to alerts that users submit. The following are the permissions available to select:

Early Alerts Permissions

  • Can view alert overviews

  • Can view alert details

  • Can add attachments

  • Can delete attachments

  • Can add notes and communications: Use J1 Web Communications features

  • Can view Student Details tab

  • Can close and reopen alerts

  • Can view retention insights (for schools licensed for Retention Insights)

Confidential Early Alerts Permissions

  • Can view alert overviews on confidential alerts

  • Can view alert details on confidential alerts

  • Can add attachments on confidential alerts

  • Can delete attachments on confidential alerts

  • Can add notes and communications on confidential alerts: Use J1 Web Communications features

  • Can view Student Details tab on confidential alerts

  • Can close and reopen alerts on confidential alerts

  • Can view retention insights on confidential alerts (for schools licensed for Retention Insights)

Users Tab

The Users tab works a bit differently in the Alert Submitter role than it does in most roles.

With most other roles, the Users tab on the Edit page lets you view, add, and remove users from the role. But in the Alert Assignee role, adding a user on the Users tab doesn't do any good. It doesn't give the user access to any alert. Instead, users are added to the role automatically when they're assigned to an alert, and they have access to the alert they're assigned to.

However, removing a user from the Alert Submitter role does remove their access to the alerts they've submitted.

A user is also removed when they no longer have any assignments.

Module Access Tab

The Module Access tab in every role allows you to turn on or off access to the various modules for communications interactions. For example, if the Registration and Advising modules are selected, the users with that role will be able to use communications (such as notifications, email, and texts) in those modules. (Texts are included in the Communications Plus license.)

User-Defined Forms Tab

The User-Defined Forms tab in every role allows you to select one of the following permissions for the user-defined fields in use:

  • Can configure UDEF form

  • Can edit UDEF data

  • Can view UDEF data

  • No permissions (default)

FAQ

Manually adding a user to the Alert Assignee role is possible, but it doesn't give the user access to any specific alerts. But when a user is assigned to an alert, then that user is automatically added to the role for that alert.

Yes, if you remove a user from the role, they lose access to all the alerts they were assigned to (unless they have access via another role, such as Student Success Administrator or Alert Assignee).

The Alert Assignee role can't be copied or used as a template because it's assigned automatically when a user is assigne to an alert. There's no need for different versions of the role.

No. They can see only alerts they're assigned to (unless they have access via another role, such as Student Success Administrator or Alert Assignee).

You're right. The usual way is to use only copies to actually assign to users and set the permissions, associations, and module access. But the Alert Assignee role is different because it's assigned automatically to users when they're assigned an alert. And you don't need different versions of the role, so you just use the default role. For these reasons, the Alert Assignee role can't be copied.