Skip to main content

Copy Role

Important

Information and features vary according to the roles to which you belong and the permissions associated with those roles. For more information, contact your module manager or your campus support team.

When new permissions are added to a role, the default role automatically enables those permissions and users immediately have access to those new features. Copied roles do not. The new permissions are available, but not enabled. This gives admin users a chance to ensure they want users in those roles to have those features.

Use this option to create a new role based on an existing role, either a Jenzabar-provided role or a custom role created by your school.

  • Create a role creates a new custom role based on a Jenzabar-provided role template. You select the permissions and settings to enable for the role.

  • Copy a role creates a new role based on an existing role. The new role inherits the source role's Permissions, Module Access settings, and User-Defined Field permissions, providing a starting point that can then be modified. Users and Associations are not copied.

The role template is based on the role you selected to copy. If you want to copy another role template, select another role based on it.

No, there are no limits to how many times a role can be copied. To eliminate confusion, Jenzabar recommends updating the new role name and description to distinguish the roles from one another.

The Unrestricted User role is used by Jenzabar to automatically provide your system administrator with an unlimited access role so they can set up J1 Web for other users and perform troubleshooting tasks. It is not intended for regular use.