Skip to main content

Student Success Settings in J1 Web

The settings on the Student Success Settings page let you determine several parameters of the Student Success hub and of Early Alert forms.

The settings are in several sections:

  • Early Alert Form

  • Alert Management

  • Student Details Tab

  • Summary Page

The Settings

Use the Early Alert Form settings to adjust the template for early alert forms.

  • Early Alert Form Title: Enter the title your want to appear on blank alert forms. Examples include "Submit an Early Alert", "Student Success Alert Form", and "Early Alert Form".

  • Early Alert Form Description: Enter a description or keep the default description. The description appears at the top of each form.

  • Active Alert Types: A list of the alert types your school has defined and that are active. Active types appear in the Alert Type drop-down on the form. Manage the definitions on the Alert Type Definitions page.

  • Confidential Alerts: If you want users to be able to mark some alerts as confidential, set this option to Include. Alerts marked as confidential require extra permission to view. (Permissions are assigned in the Student Success Roles pages.) If you don't want any alerts to be marked as confidential, set it to Exclude. It's set to Include by default.

  • Confidential Alerts Hint Text: Enter text that you want to appear with the checkbox to mark an alert as confidential. This text helps users understand the implications of a confidential alert so they can decide when to select the checkbox. The default text is "This includes information about a student's mental health, family, or other personal nonacademic matters."

    Note

    This field appears only if Confidential Alerts is set to Include.

  • Alert Description Field: Enter guidance for the Alert Details field, or keep the default "Provide details about your concern including any relevant details about the student. Attach additional information as needed."

  • Submit Form as Another User: When this option is set to On, the Submit as field appears on the form. Users can submit the form as someone other than themselves.

Use these settings to manage early alerts throughout the Student Success Module.

  • Close Alert When No Follow-Up Needed: Set this to On if you want an alert's Status to change automatically to Closed when the Follow-Up Needed option is No. (Users can set the Follow-Up Needed value when they create the alert or when they edit it.)

  • Reopen Alerts: When this option is set to On, users with permission can reopen a closed alert, changing the status to In Progress. Permission for closing and reopening reports is in Roles and Permissions.

Use these settings to configure the Student Details tab of the Alert Summary page.

  • Highlight Risk Data: When this option is set to On, then the system highlights information on the Student Details tab that indicates a student may be at risk.

Use these settings to configure the Student Success Hub Summary Page.

  • No Recent Activity: Define "recent" by entering the number of days of inactivity on an alert that should be considered not recent.

Permissions

Users need the "Can manage settings" permission to view and edit the Student Success Settings page. That permission is available in the Student Success Administrator role (and roles made from it).

How To

From outside the Student Success hub:

  1. Click the Navigation Panel icon i_nav_panel_icon.png. The navigation panel opens.

  2. Do one of the following:

    1. In the Find a Page field, enter "settings". From the results, select Settings - Student Success Hub. The Student Success Settings page opens.

    2. Click Student Success, then Student Success Administration, and then Settings. The Student Success Settings page opens.

  3. Click the anchor links or scroll to view each section of settings.

From inside the Student Success hub:

  1. Click the Hub options drop-down, and select Student Success Administration, and then Settings. The Student Success Settings page opens.

  2. Click the anchor links or scroll to view each section of settings.

  1. Click the Edit this section button. The section of settings is now in edit mode.

  2. Make your edits.

  3. Click the Save this section button. Your edits are saved.

FAQ

Why might we want to allow submitting alerts as a different user?

Allowing users to submit alerts on another's behalf ensures that the right person is associated with the alerts and, therefore, receives updates and communications. For example, a teaching assistant can submit an alert as the lead instructor. The lead instructor will be the one in the loop as the alert progresses. Or one member of a student success team could submit an alert but submit as their colleague in order to designate their colleague as the point person. It helps keep communication direct and ensures that the right person is responsible for follow-up.