Alert Submitter Role in Student Success
The Alert Submitter role is assigned automatically to users when they submit early alerts. It gives them the selected permissions for the alerts they've submitted.
Note
A user is automatically assigned to the Alert Submitter role when they submit an early alert or when someone in a Student Success Administrator role submits an alert on behalf of the user by entering the user in the Submit As field.
The role can't be copied because there's no need for different versions of the role.
Permissions Tab
Use the Permissions tab to grant or deny degrees of access to alerts that users submit. The following are the permissions available to select:
Early Alerts Permissions
Can view alert overviews
Can view alert details
Can add attachments
Can delete attachments
Confidential Early Alerts Permissions
Can view alert overviews on confidential alerts
Can view alert details on confidential alerts
Can add attachments on confidential alerts
Can delete attachments on confidential alerts
Users Tab
The Users tab works a bit differently in the Alert Submitter role than it does in most roles.
With other roles, the Users tab on the Edit page lets you view, add, and remove users from the role. But in the Alert Submitter role, adding a user on the Users tab doesn't do any good. It doesn't give the user access to any alert. Instead, users are added to the role automatically when they submit an alert, and they have access to the alert they submitted.
However, removing a user from the Alert Submitter role does remove their access to the alerts they've submitted.
Module Access Tab
The Module Access tab in every role allows you to turn on or off access to the various modules for communications interactions. For example, if the Registration and Advising modules are selected, the users with that role will be able to use communications (such as notifications, email, and texts) in those modules. (Texts are included in the Communications Plus license.)
User-Defined Forms Tab
The User-Defined Forms tab in every role allows you to select one of the following permissions for the user-defined fields in use:
Can configure UDEF form
Can edit UDEF data
Can view UDEF data
No permissions (default)
FAQ
Manually adding a user to the Alert Submitter role is possible, but it doesn't give the user access to any specific alerts. But when a user submits an alert (or when an admin submits an alert on that user's behalf using the Submit As feature, then that user is automatically added to the role for that alert.
Yes, if you remove a user from the role, they lose access to all the alerts they submitted (unless they have access via another role, such as Student Success Administrator or Alert Assignee).
The Alert Submitter role can't be copied or used as a template because it's assigned automatically when a user submits an alert. There's no need for different versions of the role.
No. They can see only alerts they've submitted (unless they have access via another role, such as Student Success Administrator or Alert Assignee).
You're right. The usual way is to use only copies to actually assign to users and set the permissions, associations, and module access. But the Alert Submitter role is different because it's assigned automatically to users when they submit an alert. And you don't need different versions of the role, so you just use the default role. For these reasons, the Alert Submitter role can't be copied.