Course Copy for Learning Tool Assignments
Copying a Learning Tool Assignment using the Course Copy feature brings forward all of the expected fields (the same fields that are copied for other assignments). In addition to the tool itself, the following tool-related settings will also be copied to the destination assignment:
Launch of the tool inline or in a window
Automatic launch of the tool
Launch not allowed after the selected date time. (This field uses the same copy logic for dates that other dates in the assignment use.)
As with saving an assignment to your File Cabinet, clicking the Enable assignment linking checkbox on the Copy Course Materials screen creates a virtual link between the new copy you're creating and the original (after clicking the Copy button). This feature will allow updates from the original to be applied to the copy if chosen. You can unlink this copy at any time by editing the assignment.
Course Copy Doesn't Include Courses that Have Not Yet Been Migrated
A Data Migration process is required for upgrading to JICS 2026.1. The migration uses a Migration Tool followed by a Migrate Over Time scheduler job that runs periodically. The migration of all Course sections is part of this process. After the Migration Tool has run, but before the Migrate Over Time job has completed migrating all Course sections, the following information applies when viewing the Course Copy portlet.
All courses that are still in the queue to be migrated do NOT appear in this portlet. This includes both the source course drop-downs and the destination course selector. Possible scenarios include:
If there are zero destination courses to choose from AND at least one destination course is hidden due to being queued for migration, then everything on this page is hidden. Instead, a warning message appears: "Course Copy cannot be used because courses are still being migrated. Check back later and if you continue to see this message, contact an administrator for assistance."
If there are zero source courses OR zero destination courses to choose from, everything on this page is hidden. Instead, a warning message appears: "Course Copy cannot be used because courses are still being migrated. Check back later and if you continue to see this message, contact an administrator for assistance." (This is only if at least one of these courses is in the Migration Queue.)
If there is at least one source and one destination course to choose from AND at least one course is hidden due to being queued for migration, then the usual Copy Course screens are shown without the queued courses available. A warning message appears: "Note that some courses are not yet available because they are in the process of being migrated. Check back later and if you continue to see this message, contact an administrator for assistance."
If no courses are hidden due to being in the migration queue, the Copy Course portlet will function the same way it always has.