Skip to main content

Forms Block

Important

Information and features vary according to the roles to which you belong and the permissions associated with those roles. For more information, contact your module manager or your campus support team.

Forms blocks show forms available for J1 Web users to complete. If an administrator shows a form that certain users do not have permission to access, the block will not show it. Forms blocks can be added to any module hub's Summary page in the system. For example, you can add HR forms to the Personnel module and forms related to campus housing to the Student Life module.

  • To manage blocks, a user must belong to a module role with the Can manage blocks permission available and enabled. These are typically module manager and administrator-level roles.

  • There are no unique roles and permissions required to view blocks. Users only need to belong to a module role. For example, to see blocks on the Employee Hub's Summary page, users must belong to an Employee role.

  • For Forms blocks, users can only see forms in the block when a form they have permission to is enabled.

How To for Users

To access the block:

  • Access a Hub Summary page using the search feature or by clicking on Summary under a module name in the left-hand navigation menu.

From the block you can, click on a form link to access and complete it.

How To for Administrators

  1. Access the Hub Summary page with the Forms block you want to update.

  2. From the Forms block, click the Edit icon.

  3. Update the Block Title as needed.

  4. From the Show column:

    Note

    If you are not seeing a form you expect, verify you belong to a role with permission to access it.

    • To make a form available for users to complete, click No slider to make available Yes.

    • To hide a form, click the Yes slider to make it No.

  5. If you want to specify a range of time for the form to be available, select Start and End dates.

  6. Click Save.

Disabling a block means users will no longer see it unless they have permission to manage blocks as well. You can re-enable it to make content available again.

  1. Access the Hub Summary page with the block you want to disable.

  2. From the Block settings drop-down options, select Manage blocks. The Manage Blocks window appears.

  3. Change Enabled to Disabled for the block you no longer want available.

  4. Click the Update button. The block is disabled.

FAQ

You likely don't have access to any of the forms available. Work with your IT Administrator or campus support team to verify you belong to a role that has been granted access to the form on the Edit Role and Manage Forms pages.

Anyone with access to the Hub Summary page with the block on it. However, users that don't have access to enabled forms won't see anything in the block.

Only users in a role with the Can manage blocks permission available and enabled. These are typically module manager and administrator-level roles.